PYRIZHKY

image

Growing up I always looked forward to any special occasion with family a specially when it came to Christmas. Everyone from the family would always prepare that one special dish and bring it that reminded them of the holidays so we would have everything from the turkey, sweet and sour meat balls, peregrines, cabbage rolls and so on…. But my ultimate favourite was those yummy Ukrainian bun called PYRIZHKY. So over the years I was in charge of making  them and bringing them for feast.
Now everyone has their own style in making PYRIZHKY and can be an all day event depending on your batch, if you want a small batch just simply cute the recipe in half.
But this is how I do it……..
2.5 cups warm water
2 tbsp sugar
2 pkg of yeast or 4tbsp of yeast in a jar
8 cups flour
1tsp salt
1/2 cup of melted butter or margarine
2 cups milk warm
3 eggs
1 cup of sour cream
1 jar or can of sauerkraut
1 pkg bacon
2 onions
 2 tsp Minced garlic
dough:
Place the warm water in a bowl and add the sugar then stir.
Add your yeast and let sit between 15 and half hour until it looks thick and foamy.
While you’re waiting for the yeast to foam or thicken up, in another bowl add your flour( I like to sift mine) and salt.
In another bowl mix you milk, eggs, butter and sour cream… Now really be sure to mix well.
Once the yeast is ready to go add your dry ingredients, mix together then add your liquid mix and knead well and let the dough rise in the bowl and place a towel over.
Filling:
Cook up the bacon in a pan, once cooked add the sauerkraut,onion and minced garlic to the pan – fry it up. I also add salt and pepper to taste.
I let my dough rise for about until I as done frying my filling( about an hour).
Then I took a palm amount of dough and filled it with my filling. Closed the dough and places it on a pan with butter on top. Threw them in the over on 350 degrees for 30 min. It made around 20 buns depending on how big the bun is.
I had a little dough left so I added grated cheese to the dough and mixed it together for cheese buns.
Everyone loved them and you can make theses for any occasion.
Leave a Reply

